Spent Coffee grounds update~

Recently we posted some uses for spent coffee grounds, one of the uses being a fridge deodorizer  instead of Baking Soda. We like to be as thrifty as possible in our house, so I figured this was a good place to start considering the amount of coffee we drink around here. 🙂

So I diligently dried the used coffee grounds in a small Pyrex pan on the kitchen counter, stirring often to let the air circulate.  The grounds were dry in approximately 3 to 4 days. I placed them in a small Tupperware, folded a paper towel over it and secured it with a rubber band. After poking a few holes in the top for ventilation it was off to the fridge for testing.

coffee grounds

It was a beneficial coincidence that the day before I had left an onion lamely wrapped on the second shelf. The grounds were definitely put to the test. What grade did they get? Well the second day I could not smell the onion anymore! I was pleased with the way the grounds soaked up the pungent smell. I have left the same grounds in there for about a week now and will probably make it a habit to switch it out every 2 weeks. There is no shortage of coffee grounds around here so there won’t be an issue of running out. 🙂

I hope you find this tip as helpful as I did. Now my Baking Soda can be put in my goodies and not in my fridge. 🙂

~Drink Coffee be Happy~

Leave a Reply

