Cleaning your Coffee Pot with Vinegar

coffee maker
This morning was a morning like any other…wake up, shower, get coffee, wake kids up. But to my extreme disappointment my coffee tasted terrible. It was a fresh pot and had an awful taste! So after smelling it again and again to make sure it wasn’t my nose, I decided it might be my coffee pot in desperate need of cleaning.

I am ashamed to say that I have neglected the inside of my coffee maker for some time now. Well today was an awakening for me. It only takes one mouthful of bad tasting coffee to make me change my ways!

Having never done this before (slap on the wrist welcomed) I had to google it and found that if you use one part Vinegar to 2 parts water, it is an awesome natural cleaner for your coffee maker.

Recipe:

1 part White Vinegar

2 parts Cold water

Direction:

Fill your coffee pot with the vinegar water mixture and pour into your coffee maker where the water usually goes.

Turn on and brew a full cycle. Once brewed turn off and let sit for about 15 minutes. Dump Vinegar solution, rinse coffee pot, and fill coffee maker one more time with just cold water. Run cycle again and turn off.  Dump water once more and wash coffee pot with warm soapy water, rinsing well.  When coffee maker and heating plate are cooled, wipe clean with wet paper towel or kitchen rag to clean. Take filter holder out, if you have one, and wash in warm soapy water as well and rinse. Assemble coffee maker again and you are done. If you still smell Vinegar after your first rinse cycle, run another water cycle to ensure that it is free of vinegar. Let sit and cool for 15 minutes between water brews,  this will prevent your coffee maker from over-heating.

I hope this helps you as much as it helped me! 🙂 I look forward to my night-time coffee not tasting terrible! 😀

Oooh yeah I found this cute coffee pot for you Star Wars fans out there 😀

Star wars coffee pot

And I want this one for myself 🙂

coffee and espresso maker

~Drink Coffee be Happy~

9 comments on “Cleaning your Coffee Pot with Vinegar

  1. Pingback: Laughter as brain injury medicine … Yuck! what’s that sour taste « braininjuryselfrehabilitation

  2. Pingback: Let’s Talk Coffee Filters | Coffee Kingdom

Leave a comment